Faculty Senate Minutes

August 26, 2022

Attended: Ambrose, Bill; Brooks, Mary Liz; Priscella, Correa; Crosman, Erik; Denton,

Kenneth; Ghosh, Nabarun; Hoffmann, Eric; Humpherys, Sean; Issa, Roy; Leitch, Kenneth; Manfredi, Guiligliemo; Pinkham, Ashley; Price, Blake; Ramos Salazar, Leslie; Reardon, Matt; Smith, Bob; Spencer, Brian; Unnikrishnan, Vinu; Welch, Beach Wilseley Briantes Williams Leslies Verbreach, Lesey Malian Briantes Williams Leslies Williams

Reed; Whaley, Brigette; Williams, Leslie; Yarbrough, Jason; Meljac, Eric

Absent: McCauley (substitute: David Howe), Tarpley

Guest(s):

The meeting was called to order at 12:30 by President Ashley Pinkham. President Pinkham discussed the attendance policy and parliamentary procedure.

CURRENT BUSINESS

Standing Faculty Senate Committees

President Pinkham discussed filling the vacancies on the Handbook Committee and the Joint Student-Faculty Committee on Academic Affairs.

Handbook Committee nominations:

Kelly McCauley; COB

Mary Liz Brooks; FAH

Trisha Brown; NHS

Brigette Whaley; ESS

Jason Yarbrough, ANS

Kenneth Leitch, Engineering

Bob Smith, Library

Chair: Jason Yarbrough

Joint Student-Faculty Committee

Kenneth Denton, ESS

Erik Miljack, FAH

Correa Priscella; NHS,

Sean Humpherys; COB

Erik Crosman; ANS

Vinu Unnikrishnan, Engineering

Bob Smith; Library

Chair: Erik Crosman

Ad-hoc Travel Committees

The idea of having this committee were discussed. Last semester, it was found that there was a great discrepancy between departments. Motion passed to create a Travel Equity Committee with 20 votes, and the following individuals were nominated:

Guiligliemo Manfredi, FAH

Kenneth Denton, ESS,

Bob Smith; Library

Brian Spencer; NHS

Leslie Ramos Salazar; COB

Roy Issa; Engineering

Chair: Kenneth Denton

University-wide committee vacancies

The nominees presented and discussed for the following committees were, respectively:

<u>Accommodations Appeals Committee</u>: Darla Marcear, Lee Doughrty. The vote was held, and Darla obtained 21 of the votes, Lee received 0, Darla is selected for this committee.

<u>Faculty Development Committee</u>: Vote was tabled for further discussion. ESS

<u>Faculty Emeritus Committee</u>: Vote Syed Tariq Anwar from the COB was nominated, and he won the nomination unanimously.

<u>Faculty Handbook Committee</u>: Lourna Strong was nominated, and Bill Ambrose nominated himself. Vote was held. Lourna won 3 votes, Bill won 18. Bill is elected to the committee.

NEW BUSINESS

After-hours support

Multiple members expressed the desire for increased after-hours support for students, including COVID testing, IT after-hours support

University Marketing Strategy

The University Marketing Strategy was discussed. The absence of a presence on popular social media platforms was noted, as well as the lack of Spanish translations of current ads.

Blackboard/WT Class

The question was raised whether there are alternatives to Blackboard and possibly changing to another platform when the contract with Blackboard is up. Technical difficulties with blackboard were mentioned, but questions as to whether auxiliary platforms such as Ensemble would be affected. It was encouraged to solicit feedback from our colleagues regarding the general thoughts on Blackboard. A motion was passed to approach LMS advisory group to see if they have any data/insight into this issue.

Senator representing adjunct faculty

It was discussed as to whether we should continue with having a position on the Faculty Senate for the adjunct faculty, which hasn't been filled since 2017. It was noted that the representation of adjunct faculty is very important, but current Senate members can most likely do a sufficient job at representing their needs. A motion was passed unanimously to eliminate the position.

Regents Professor Nominations

As directed by the Provost, Gary Bigham will fill be the nomination this year, and the Senate will solicit new nominations in 2023.

Piper Professor Nominations

Per a request from Provost Terry, the Senate was asked to put forth a nomination of the Piper Professorship. The Senate will pick this issue up during the next meeting.

OPEN DISCUSSION/COMMENTS

Clarification as to whether the 3rd year review process is undergoing a change was requested, and a further inquiry was suggested.

• Motion to adjourn: Matt Reardon

• Second: Bob Smith

• Meeting adjourned at 1:35 pm

Respectfully,

Eric Hoffmann